twitter Tweet

OHSU Announces Several Awards and Appointments

   Portland, Ore.

The physician residency training program at Oregon Health & Science University's Casey Eye Institute/Department of Ophthalmology has been named one of the top 10 ophthalmology residency programs in the United States. The designation is a result of an annual poll of the chairpersons of medical school ophthalmology departments by the medical journal Ophthalmology Times.

The ranking of more than 100 ophthalmology training programs places the Casey program alongside training programs at such institutions as the Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute and the Duke University Eye Center. Andreas Lauer, M.D., an assistant professor of ophthalmology in the OHSU School of Medicine, is director of the residency program.

Katherine Crabtree, D.N.Sc., A.N.P., R.N.C.S., F.A.A.N., and Nancy Lowe, Ph.D., R.N., C.N.M., F.A.A.N., both professors in the OHSU School of Nursing, were recently inducted into the American Academy of Nursing. Membership represents recognition by an individual's peers of having made outstanding contributions to the field of nursing.

Sima Desai, M.D., assistant professor of medicine (general internal medicine and geriatrics) in the OHSU School of Medicine, recently received the Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians from the American College of Physicians. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in leadership, academics and/or volunteerism by a physician under the age of 40. A member of the OHSU's Hospitalist Program, Desai specializes in the care of hospitalized patients.

Kathleen Potempa, D.N.Sc., R.N., F.A.A.N., OHSU vice president and dean of the OHSU School of Nursing, was named the 2003 Distinguished Alumna by the Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Nurses Alumni Association of Rush University Medical Center in Chicago. Honoring Potempa's significant contributions to nursing and health care, the award recognized her research dealing with the benefits of aerobic exercise after stroke, her efforts to improve care for older adults and her sponsorship of several doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.

Alison Turner, M.Ed., research associate in the OHSU Center on Self-Determination and project coordinator for the National Youth Leadership Network, has been named to the Oregon State Board of Education's Special Education Advisory Committee. The committee reviews statewide services and programs for special education and advises the state superintendent of public instruction and the board of education.

Eric Walsh, M.D., assistant professor of family practice and director of the family practice residency program in the OHSU School of Medicine, was one of 10 recipients nationally of the 2004 Parker J. Palmer awards from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. The annual awards honor medical residency program directors for their commitment to teaching and development of innovative approaches for educating physicians in training.

Photos are available upon request.

Previous Story OHSU Computing Course Mirrors National Trend Next Story OHSU Team Discovers Compound That Lacks Estrogen's Risks
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram OHSU Braille services OHSU sign language services OHSU interpreter services X