twitter Tweet

OHSU Announces Several Appointments and Awards

   Portland, Ore.

Oregon Health & Science University has announced several recent appointments and awards:

 • The OHSU School of Medicine has named George Keepers, M.D., the new chairman of the school's Department of Psychiatry as well as the Caruthers Professor of Psychiatry. He had served as interim chairman of psychiatry since 2001.

With clinical and research interests in the field of neuropsychiatry, Keepers is particularly interested in attention deficit disorder, and he is the director of the OHSU Adult Attention Deficit Disorder Clinic. He is a 1977 graduate of Baylor College of Medicine.

The Department of Psychiatry includes 85 primary faculty, 40 adjunct faculty and 120 clinical faculty. It operates one of the largest training programs at OHSU, including more than 40 residents and fellows involved in general, child, geriatric and addiction psychiatry training. The department enjoys national prominence in public psychiatry, cross-cultural psychiatry, mood disorders, sleep disorders and circadian rhythm disturbances, and faculty have $17 million in research funding.

 • The OHSU School of Medicine has named James Cohen, M.D., Ph.D., an associate dean.

A professor of otolaryngology/head and neck surgery in the OHSU School of Medicine, Cohen will scale back his clinical activities to devote a significant amount of time to serving as a liaison between the dean's office and OHSU clinical faculty, departments and programs.

"My job is to advocate for the faculty, making sure that we support their success and emphasize the many aspects of academic medicine that can make it such a uniquely rewarding profession," he said. "This will include programs for faculty development, encouraging and enabling collaborative, interdisciplinary efforts among the faculty and the development of new programs."

Cohen joined OHSU in 1988. He is a member of the American Academy of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery, the American Society of Head and Neck Surgery, and the American College of Surgeons. He received his medical degree from the University of Manitoba, and he received his doctorate and postgraduate medical education from the University of Minnesota.

• Richard Walker, Ph.D., associate professor of otolaryngology/head and neck surgery in the OHSU School of Medicine, was one of 11 researchers nationwide recently honored for receiving a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Intended "to recognize and nurture some of the finest scientists and engineers who, while early in their research careers, show exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge during the 21st century," the awards are considered the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. Walker holds a doctorate in neuroscience from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, and he is a member of OHSU's Oregon Hearing Research Center and the Vollum Institute at OHSU.

• Roy Magnusson, M.D., associate professor of emergency medicine and associate dean for health system affairs in the OHSU School of Medicine, was recently appointed to the Oregon Patient Safety Commission by the Oregon State Senate. Magnusson is also medical director of OHSU Hospitals and Clinics as well as associate hospital director for medical/clinical services.

• Stephen Fausti, Ph.D., professor of otolaryngology/head and neck surgery in the OHSU School of Medicine, received the 2004 Paul B. Magnuson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Rehabilitation Research and Development. The award is presented annually to a U.S. Veterans Affairs investigator who exemplifies entrepreneurship, humanitarianism and dedication to veterans. It is the highest honor for VA rehabilitation investigators.

Fausti established the National Center for Rehabilitative Auditory Research in 1997 at the Portland VA Medical Center to conduct research to increase knowledge about hearing impairment and to develop technology to improve the care and treatment of veterans with hearing loss. He is also a professor of dermatology at the Portland VA Medical Center.

• The OHSU School of Medicine's Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine has received the 2004 Outstanding Educational Program of the Year Award from the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine. Thomas Becker, M.D., Ph.D., the department's chairman, accepted the award. He holds a medical degree from Case Western Reserve University and a doctorate from the University of New Mexico.


Previous Story New Rural Resource Center Gets to Roots of Problems Next Story OHSU Neurologists Studying Fish Oil as Alzheimer's Therapy
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram OHSU Braille services OHSU sign language services OHSU interpreter services X