twitter Tweet

OHSU School of Dentistry Announces Appointments, Awards

Appointments and Awards

The Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry announces the following appointments and awards:

Cynthia L. Kleinegger, D.D.S., M.S., recently joined the Department of Pathology and Radiology as an associate professor. Prior to joining OHSU, Kleinegger was on faculty at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry for nine years. Most recently, she was an associate professor and directed the graduate education programs and the sterilization monitoring program in the University of Iowa College of Dentistry's Department of Oral Pathology, Radiology and Medicine. Kleinegger also has served as assistant professor in the Department of Diagnostic Services at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry and a clinical instructor at the University of Colorado School of Dentistry. She received her doctorate in dental surgery at the University of Colorado School of Dentistry and her master's in stomatology and certificate in oral and maxillofacial  pathology at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry.  She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology.  Her clinical practice involves the diagnosis and management of mucosal diseases, non-odontogenic head and neck pain, and salivary gland dysfunction.

Jill Mason, M.P.H., R.D.H., associate professor of undergraduate periodontology, recently received three appointments:  student ambassador for the National Health Service Corps. to recruit and mentor students interested in public health practice; member of the Dental Hygiene National Board Case Selection Committee coordinated by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations; and member of the Oregon Board of Dentistry, a four-year term that she began in April. Mason joined the OHSU faculty in 1989.

Rosemary P. McPharlin, D.D.S., recently joined the Department of Restorative Dentistry as an assistant professor in operative dentistry. McPharlin has been a preclinical instructor in operative dentistry for the past year. Previously, she was a dental care provider at Maxwell Air Force Base in Montgomery, Ala., and in private practice in California. McPharlin received her doctor of dental surgery from Louisiana State University Medical Center School of Dentistry in New Orleans.

Brett Allen Ueeck, D.M.D., M.D., recently was appointed assistant professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery. After graduating with high honors from the OHSU School of Dentistry, Ueeck completed an internship in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, partly while attending the OHSU School of Medicine. After graduating from medical school in 2003 and completing a general surgery internship there, Ueeck rejoined the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery as a resident. Ueeck is a member of Omicron Kappa Upsilon, Delta Chapter, and in 1999 received the American Association of Oral and Maxilofacial Surgeons Clinical Award, as well as several recent and prestigious School of Medicine scholarships.

The 105-year-old School of Dentistry is Oregon's only dental school and one of two dental schools in the Northwest. More than 80 percent of Oregon's dentists graduated from the OHSU School of Dentistry. For more information about the OHSU School of Dentistry, visit


Previous Story Statewide Decline In Emergency Department By Oregon Health Plan Members Next Story OHSU Finds Pathway Herpes Uses To Trigger Eye Disease