twitter Tweet

OHSU Announces National Awards, Appointments

* Mark Helfand, M.D., M.P.H., M.S., F.A.C.P., has been elected a fellow of the American College of Physicians (ACP). This distinction recognizes achievements in internal medicine. He was elected to ACP upon the recommendation of peers and the review of ACP's Credentials Subcommittee. He may now use the letters FACP after his name in recognition of this honor. Helfand is a professor of medicine (general internal medicine and geriatrics, and medical informatics and clinical epidemiology) in the OHSU School of Medicine; and director of the Oregon Evidence-based Medicine Practice Center at OHSU.

The ACP is the second-largest physician group in the United States and includes more than 116,000 internists, related subspecialists and medical students. Internists are specialists in the prevention, detection, and treatment of illnesses in adults.

* Monica Johnson-Tomanka, R.N., director of the Pacific Northwest Transplant Bank (PTNB) at OHSU, is one of just 25 individuals nationwide elected to the board of directors of the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS). The UNOS Board also serves as the board of directors for the national Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network. Her position will be effective on June 30, 2006.

UNOS is a nonprofit, scientific and educational organization that administers the nation's only Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network (OPTN), established by the U.S. Congress in 1984. Through the OPTN, UNOS collects and manages data about every transplant event occurring in the United State, facilitates the organ matching and placement process using UNOS-developed data technology and then, and brings together medical professionals, transplant recipients and donor families to develop organ transplantation policy.

* Edward Keenan, Ph.D., has received the 2006 Alumni Merit Award from Creighton University Graduate School. Keenan, associate dean for medical education and professor of physiology and pharmacology, and surgery, in the OHSU School of Medicine, received both his bachelor's and master's in biology from Creighton University, Omaha, Neb.

The annual Creighton Alumni Merit Award is given to an outstanding alum who has provided distinguished service to the university or his/her community. The university requires awardees to have to "a personal quality that makes them cultured and of high moral principles guided by the Jesuit ideal of being men and women for others."

Previous Story OHSU'S Neuwelt, Nicholson Help Launch Walk, Run Next Story OHSU Cancer Institute Researcher Develops First Animal Model To Treat Devastating Head and Neck Cancers