twitter Tweet

OHSU School of Dentistry New Appointments, Awards

   Portland, Ore.

The Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) School of Dentistry announces the following new appointments and awards:

-- Phyllis Beemsterboer, M.S., Ed.D., associate dean for academic affairs, School of Dentistry, has been appointed to the ADA's Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA), which oversees the 14 types of educational programs dental schools offer.

-- Emily Cortes, D.D.S., has joined the School of Dentistry as an assistant professor of community dentistry. Cortes is a 2004 graduate from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and has spent the past two years providing care to children receiving Medicaid in Wichita. She is based at the School's Russell Street Clinic in North Portland.

-- Jack Ferracane, Ph.D., professor and chairman of the School of Dentistry's Department of Restorative Dentistry, won the prestigious 2006 Wilmer Souder Award from the International Association for Dental Research (IADR). The Wilmer Souder Award, established in 1955, is one of the highest honors in the field of dental materials research and is given to dental materials scientists who have brought about outstanding advances in their field. Ferracane was honored for his research on dental restorative materials, specifically the manner in which the composition of dental composites affects their properties and ultimately their clinical performance. The Wilmer Souder Award is sponsored by the William T. Sweeney Memorial Fund and by the IADR Dental Materials Group, and is the oldest of the IADR's Distinguished Scientist Awards presented to researchers annually. For his efforts, Ferracane received $2,000 and a plaque that was presented at the opening ceremonies of the IADR General Session in June.

-- Cindy Kleinegger, D.D.S., M.S., associate professor of pathology and radiology, School of Dentistry, recently was elected to a three-year term on the Executive Council of the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology.  Members of the Executive Council are involved in and ultimately responsible for all activities of the Academy. Kleinegger also has been appointed to the ADA's Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA), which oversees the 14 types of educational programs dental schools offer.

-- Jim Kratochvil, D.D.S., chairman of pathology and radiology, School of Dentistry, recently was elected to a seven-year term as a director of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology. Kratochvil also has been invited to serve on the editorial board of a new peer-reviewed journal, Head and Neck Pathology. The editorial board comprises international experts in the area of otorhinolaryngic pathology and oral and maxillofacial pathology.

-- Curt Machida, Ph.D., research professor in the School of Dentistry's Department of Integrative Biosciences, was recently appointed to the Medical Professionals Advisory Panel of Standard & Poor's Vista Research for his expertise in biotechnology. Standard & Poor's is the world's foremost provider of independent credit ratings and acquired Vista Research last year.

-- Lawrence Musanje, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow in the School of Dentistry's division of biomaterials and biomechanics, recently received a Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health's (NIH) National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR). The two-year fellowship, worth $135,184, will enable Musanje to conduct research aimed at improving the cure efficiency of dental composites and other polymeric biomaterials; undergo further training under the mentorship of Jack Ferracane, Ph.D., professor and chair of restorative dentistry, and John Mitchell, Ph.D., assistant professor of biomaterials and biomechanics, to develop visible-light photopolymerizable biodegradable tissue engineering scaffolds; and become an independent researcher in photopolymerizable systems applicable in dentistry and tissue engineering.

-- Mark Mitchell, M.A., associate dean for student affairs, School of Dentistry, has been appointed by the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) to be a national trainer for the ADEA's admissions and report-writing software (AClient). Mark will conduct up to two major regional trainings each year. He'll also do one-on-one software trainings, as requested by individual dental schools.

-- Richard Park, D.M.D., assistant professor of pediatric dentistry, School of Dentistry, recently received a 2006 Oregon Ethics in Business Award ( Park was one of four individuals who received the award from the Samaritan Counseling Center, the Rotary Club of Portland, Willamette University MBA, and the Portland Business Journal. The Oregon Ethics in Business Awards honor individuals and organizations demonstrating ethical business practice. Park received the award for his devotion to helping vulnerable children receive dental care, both at OHSU and within the world community.

-- Jeffery Stewart, D.D.S., M.S., associate professor of pathology, School of Dentistry, has been appointed to the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations (JCNDE). Stewart has been asked to serve on the National Board Dental Test Construction Committee (Part I) beginning in 2007.

OHSU's chapter of ASDA (American Student Dental Association) just won the Crest Healthy Smiles Award for 2006. The award is presented annually to the ASDA chapter that works in affiliation with a local Boys & Girls Club to best promote and teach the benefits of oral health care. Awards are decided at an all-ASDA annual meeting where new officers are selected, policy changes are made and accomplishments at chapters reviewed. OHSU's ASDA chapter worked with the Meyer's Memorial Boys & Girls Club on April 11 to promote not only oral health, but whole-body health, says OHSU ASDA president Kariana Peters, a third-year student.

Previous Story OHSU, Kaiser Permanente Northwest Partner To Win $55 Million Grant To Transform Medical Research Next Story OHSU Will Host For The Study Of Marfan Syndrome, And Other Causes Of Aortic Aneurysms