twitter Tweet

Congratulations to the 2008-2009 Faculty Excellence in Teaching Awards recipients

Dean Richardson sent the following message to the OHSU School of Medicine community on November 2, 2009:


Dear Colleagues:

I am very pleased to announce the recipients of the 2008-2009 Faculty Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Teaching is the essential purpose of the OHSU School of Medicine. Most of our faculty members could practice medicine or conduct research in non-educational settings, but don’t; we all choose to be here. We recognize that our ability to make a lasting impact on the health and well-being of people everywhere is greatly expanded by helping to educate the next generation of providers and scientists.

The five faculty members below were nominated by their colleagues for their outstanding contributions to medical and graduate studies education. 

•    Susan P. Bagby, MD, Department of Medicine (Nephrology)
•    Nicole M. DeIorio, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
•    Jeffrey W. Karpen, PhD, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
•    Carrie A. Phillipi, MD, PhD, Department of Pediatrics
•    Matthew J. Thayer, PhD, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

 The eleven faculty members listed below were nominated and selected by students for their teaching excellence.

•    Virginia l. Brooks, PhD, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
•    Philip F. Copenhaver, PhD, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology
•    Christopher L. Corless, MD, Department of Pathology
•    Thomas G. Deloughery, MD, Departments of Pathology and Medicine
•    Edward J. Keenan, PhD, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
•    George D. Olsen, MD, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
•    Megan L. Troxell, MD, PHhd, Anatomical Pathology
•    Donald Austin, MD, MPH, Department of Public Health & Preventive Medicine
•    John Brigande, PhD, Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery
•    Jeffrey W. Karpen, PhD, Department of Physiology & Pharmacology
•    Andrey E. Ryabinin, MD, PhD, Department of Behavioral Neuroscience

Finally, four students – John DuPaix, Geoffrey Male, John Conroy and Matthew Iles-Shih – were recognized for academic excellence and two courses – taught by Gary Ciment and Megan Troxell – were recognized as outstanding courses.

I invite all of you to read the full program and to take a look at photos from the Awards Ceremony held on Monday, November 2.  And please join me in congratulating the awardees and thanking them for their exceptional contributions to the OHSU School of Medicine.


Mark Richardson, MD, MBA
Dean, OHSU School of Medicine
President, Faculty Practice Plan

Faculty Excellence Awards recipients
Faculty Excellence in Education Award recipients (l to r):

Susan Bagby, MD, Carrie Phillipi, MD, PhD, Matthew Thayer, PhD, Jeffrey Karpen, PhD, and Nicole DeIorio, MD

For more photos from the event, check out our School of Medicine Facebook Page



Previous Story Congratulations and thank you to the first cohort of “Lead Mentors” Next Story Governor appoints Dr. McCarty to Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission