twitter Tweet

Dr. Hofmann, Class of '78, honored as "Master" by American College of Physicians

The American College of Physicians recognized Chuck E. Hofmann, MD, as one of a highly select group of 2010 Masters. Dr. Hofmann joins School of Medicine faculty members Grover C. Bagby, MD, and Thomas G. Cooney, MD, as Oregonians selected as Masters in 2010. "I feel honored to be chosen, and particularly so when I look at the names of previous Masters and the two colleagues named with me this year," said Dr. Hofmann. "I am not sure that I remember two physicians from the same state being chosen in one year, let alone three."

A member of the OHSU School of Medicine Class of '78, Dr. Hofmann has practiced in Baker City, Oregon, for nearly three decades. He was Oregon Medical Association President between 1997 and 1998 and served on the seven-member Oregon Health Fund Board (OHFB). He is proud of the Board's successful effort to expand health care coverage to all children and 35,000 low income adults who had previously not qualified for coverage. He is now a member of the Oregon Health Policy Board, the successor to the OHFB. Dr. Hofmann is committed to equality of access to health care. "More health care does not necessarily mean better health care," he said. "We are very efficient in the way we provide health care services, but there are significant regional differences in how people can access medical services."

Dr. Hofmann also recently received the 2009 Laureate Award from the Oregon Chapter of the ACP, for "his devotion to, and modeling of, the highest ideals of our profession."

Previous Story New Endodontology Chairperson for OHSU School of Dentistry Next Story OHSU School of Dentistry Team Discovers Powerful Molecule Regulator in Blood-Pressure Control System