twitter Tweet

The 5th Annual OHSU Student Volunteer Recognition and Awards Ceremony

The 5th Annual OHSU Student Volunteer Recognition and Awards Ceremony was held May 20, 2010 at the OHSU Student Center in Portland, and our students and faculty were shining stars.
President Robertson opened with remarks that captured the appreciation and awe we all have for our students and faculty colleagues on all campuses who make such a positive difference both in our communities and throughout the world. Dr. Vieira, Interim Provost, recognized all of the award nominees by name and described the work of the two top awardees (Top Award Winner and Runner-Up).

OHSU School of Nursing  students, faculty, and groups with SON representation were recognized for their outstanding achievements:

Educator Award: Leah de Forest, Trevis Hutsell, Kelli Nickerson (Runner-Up), Deidra Weinert, Joshua Sizemore

Student Service Award: Daniel Vawter, Deidra Weinert (Top Award), Karen Jeffery, Anjanette Raber, Kristen Belford

Global International Award: Julia Thomas (Runner-Up), Nicole Webber
Community Outreach and Clinical Service Award: Heather Hastings, Kelli Nickerson, Kristen Belford

Forging the Way Award: Choices and Concerns for the Uninsured and Underinsured (Top Award), Haitian Nursing School Donation Group

Faculty Award: Ann Nielsen, MN, RN, Linda Felver, PhD, RN, Maryanne Bletscher, MS, RN (Note: This is the first year for this category.)

Volunteer of the Year Award:
Lani Doser, Danica Trujillo

Thanks to one of our magnificent SON students, Rex Hill Winery donated wine to help with the wine and appetizer reception.

Previous Story Leaders in nursing education and research host masterclass at UTS Next Story 2010 Student Research Forum: From alligators to CRELD1