twitter Tweet

Dr. Wang elected President of the American Academy of Facial Plastics & Reconstructive Surgery

Tom D. Wang, MD, Professor, Department of Otolaryngology/ Head & Neck Surgery and Chief, Division of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, was elected President-elect of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS). This honor is in recognition of Dr. Wang's contributions and commitment to the specialty of facial plastic and reconstructive surgery.

The AAFPRS is the world's largest Facial Plastic Surgery specialty association, representing over 2,700 facial plastic and reconstructive surgeons. AAFPRS members are board certified surgeons whose focus is cosmetic and reconstructive surgery of the face, head and neck.

Dr. Wang’s practice at OHSU is limited to cosmetic and reconstructive surgery of the face. He is actively involved in the teaching of medical students and residents and participates in research on Facial Plastic Surgery-related problems.

As president of the American Academy of Facial Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Dr. Wang will provide oversight for the organization’s multi-faceted activities, including education, public service and international humanitarian outreach programs.  He will also promote the highest standard of care provided by the Academy member surgeons for all patients seeking facial plastic surgery.

Dr. Wang says, “it’s an honor and a privilege to be elected by my peers to this position of leadership.  I look forward to embracing the challenges and responsibilities and hope to strengthen the Academy to better serve our members and our patients.”

Previous Story Clinician-filmmaker gives patients the tools to tell their own stories Next Story 2010 Henrietta Doltz Puhaty Lecture