Share Tweet Share Email Print

Faculty members honored for excellence in teaching

Faculty Excellence AwardsAt the recent Faculty Excellence Awards luncheon, nine School of Medicine faculty members were honored for outstanding contributions to the education mission in the School of Medicine.
The sunny November day had everyone in good spirits as faculty members and invited guests gathered at the BICC Gallery to recognize the important contributions of some of the school’s top educators. Dean Mark Richardson, MD, MBA, Tana A. Grady-Weliky, MD, Associate Dean for Medical Education, and Allison Fryer, PhD, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, presided over the ceremony.
Welcoming everyone in attendance, Dean Richardson said, “It’s remarkable how much impact teachers have on their students and the indelible impression they leave with everyone.” He added that teaching is the “essential purpose” of the School and expressed gratitude for faculty members who have chosen a career in education. “All of you could be practicing medicine or pursuing your research passion elsewhere, but you chose OHSU so that you can participate in the education mission. This is an enormous contribution to the future of health care.”
Faculty Excellence AwardsThe recipients of the 2010 Faculty Excellence Awards were nominated and selected without reservation by their colleagues. “This year the School of Medicine received a record of close to twenty nominations,” said Dr. Grady-Weliky. “This outpouring of enthusiasm reminds us of the extraordinary educators we have at OHSU.”
Prior to presenting each recipient with an award plaque, Dr. Grady-Weliky read excerpts from nomination letters that commended the faculty members for being role models, leaders and enthusiastic teachers.
When delivering the Excellence in Teaching Awards, where recipients were nominated by their students, Dr. Grady-Weliky said, “These awards come from students who want to recognize excellence in teaching. There is no greater honor, in my opinion, than to have a student recognize your hard work and dedication.”
In addition to faculty Excellence in Education and Excellence in Teaching, awards were presented to students and faculty in the categories of Academic Excellence and Outstanding Course.

"These awards recognize the outstanding faculty that are working, often quietly, to shape the minds of future scientists and physicians," said Dr. Fryer. "I am proud to be associated with them."
 Faculty Excellence Awards

2010 Faculty Excellence in Education Awards recipients

Frances E. Biagioli, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Patrick H. Brunett, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
Lisa Grill Dodson, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine
Rebecca A. Harrison, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Daniel L. Marks, MD, PhD, FAAP, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Shannon K. McWeeney, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Public Health & Preventive Medicine
Suzanne H. Mitchell, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Behavioral Neuroscience
Meg O’Reilly, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Stephen R. Planck, PhD, Research Associate Professor, Department of Ophthalmology

The School of Medicine will be publishing a series of “Why I teach” profiles on these faculty members over the coming months.
Click here to see the complete list of award recipients.

Pictured: (Top) Dr. Grady-Weliky & Dr. Fryer; (Middle) Dean Richardson & Dr. Harrison; (Bottom) Excellence in Education Award recipients

Previous Story Dr. Hersh named to Top 25 Clinical Informaticists Next Story Dr. Lewy quoted on CNN, asked about “body’s clock.”