twitter Tweet

Dr. Primack appointed Interim Chair of Diagnostic Radiology; committee convened for national search for permanent chair 

Dr. PrimackDean Mark Richardson has appointed Steven L. Primack, MD, Professor and Vice Chair, to the position of Interim Chair of the Department of Diagnostic Radiology, and has appointed a search committee to oversee recruitment of a permanent chair.

Frederick S. Keller, MD, who stepped down as Chair effective Jan. 1, will remain Director of the Dotter Interventional Institute. The Institute, which was established in 1990 as a free-standing division in the School of Medicine, is a multidisciplinary program in interventional therapy.

Dr. Primack joined the School of Medicine in 1994 upon completion of his radiology residency and subsequent fellowship in thoracic radiology. Since 2000, Dr. Primack has held the appointment of Vice Chair of the Department of Diagnostic Radiology. Dr. Primack also holds a faculty appointment in the Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine. He is an active clinician, is widely published, has won numerous teaching awards and is invited frequently to speak about thoracic radiology at national and international venues. Dr. Primack served previously on the OHSU Professional Board, the Faculty Council, the Faculty Senate, and in many other service roles at OHSU.

“Please join me in congratulating Dr. Primack on this appointment, as well as thanking him for stepping into this leadership role. I also want to again thank Dr. Keller for his many years of leadership of the department,” said Dean Richardson.

In selecting Dr. Primack for this interim role, Dean Richardson considered input from faculty members and was also guided by his goal to ensure a smooth leadership transition for the department as the School of Medicine conducts the national search for a new Chair.

Dean Richardson has appointed a search committee to oversee this recruitment. The members are:

  • Co-chair: John Ma, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Co-chair: Charles Thomas, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Medicine
  • Kevin Billingsley, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, Head of Division of Surgical Oncology
  • Elizabeth Bower, MD, MPH, Assistant Dean, Continuing Medical Education, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
  • Sanjiv Kaul, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine, Head of Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Helmi Lutsep, MD, Professor, Department of Neurology, Associate Director, Oregon Stroke Center
  • Bill Rooney, PhD, Senior Scientist, Director, Advanced Imaging Research Center
  • Steven Scott, FACHE, Associate Hospital Administrator, Professional Services, OHSU Hospital

    Pictured: Steven L. Primack, MD
Previous Story StudentSpeak: Why does getting a PhD take so long? Next Story Welcome new faculty - January 2010
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram OHSU Braille services OHSU sign language services OHSU interpreter services X