twitter Tweet

School of Medicine Alumni Association honors distinguished alumni, faculty, students

Dean Richardson selects Charles Thomas, MD, Chair, Radiation Medicine, to receive annual Dean’s Award

Alumni AwardsThe School of Medicine Alumni Association (SMAA) honored a number of outstanding alumni, faculty, volunteer faculty and students at its annual awards banquet May 5 at the Waverley Country Club.

The Dean's Award was presented to Charles R. Thomas, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Medicine. The Dean's Award is presented annually to a faculty member or alumnus/a in recognition of exceptional service to the School of Medicine. Click here to read more about Dr. Thomas.

The Esther Pohl Lovejoy, MD Leadership Award recipient was Bruce Nedrow (Ned) Calonge, MD, MPH R' 84, who was nominated by John Saultz, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine. Dr. Saultz writes, "Dr. Calonge has an exceptional record of national leadership and service. Most noteworthy is his service as Chair of the US Preventive Services Task Force since 2003." Click here to read more about Dr. Calonge.

The Charles A. Preuss, MD Distinguished Alumnus recipient was Herbert J. Semler, MD '53, MS. Dr. Semler is an internationally known Portland cardiologist, philanthropist and innovator of cardiovascular products. He has served as Governor of the American College of Cardiology for the State of Oregon and has been a Fellow of the American College of Physicians since 1965. He has held clinical appointments at the Mayo Clinic and at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center in Portland and is the author or co-author of over 70 scientific medical publications. Click here to read more about Dr. Semler. 

Dr. LairdThe Richard T. Jones, MD, PhD Distinguished Alumni Scientist Award recipient was Mary Stenzel-Poore, PhD '87. Dr. Stenzel-Poore is Chair of the Department of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology and Associate Dean for Basic Science, and was nominated by Cheryl Maslen, PhD. In addition to running an active research program, developing a new biotech start-up company, and acting as chair of the department, she is also on the scientific advisory board for OTRADI, the Oregon Translational Research and Drug Development Institute. Dr. Stenzel-Poore is also the permanent chair of NIH's Special Neuroscience Research Program for Under-represented Minorities and serves on several scientific peer-review panels. Click here to read more about Dr. Stenzel-Poore.

In addition, the SMAA honored five volunteer faculty members for their service to the educational mission of the School of Medicine, two winners in the competitions for best paper by a resident and by a post-doctoral fellow, and nine student nominees for the Edward S. Hayes Gold Headed Cane award and the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine award.

Pictured: (top left to right) Drs. Mark Richardson and Charles Thomas; (bottom) Dr. Robert Laird, Alumni Association President

Previous Story Rest and wellness go hand-in-hand for OHSU residents, fellows Next Story Dr. Druker featured in Smithsonian magazine