twitter Tweet

Faculty receive honors at annual APA meeting, Dr. Grady-Weliky remembered

Faculty members received awards and recognition at the 164th annual meeting of the American Psychiatric Association held May 14-18 in Hawaii.

Dr. Paul Leung received the Kun-Po Soo Award

Dr. Paul LeungThe Council on Minority Mental Health and Health Disparities presented Paul Leung, MD, Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry, with the Kun-Po Soo Award. The Kun-Po Soo Award was established in 1987 to recognize significant contributions toward understanding the impact and import of Asian cultural heritage in areas relevant to psychiatry. The award also seeks to encourage scholarship and research in culture‑specific mental health issues and treatment needs of Asian populations and to stimulate scientific exchange on transcultural issues. Dr. Leung is the Medical Director of Psychiatry at OHSU Hospital. He is also the Medical director of the Chinese Mental Health Clinic, a clinic he established in 1984 to focus on providing mental health care to Chinese and Korean immigrants. Dr. Leung's research interests are centered in better understanding and improving treatments for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.

Dr. R. Dale Walker awarded a Special Presidential CommendationDr. R. Dale Walker

The Special Presidential Commendation was awarded to R. Dale Walker, MD, Professor, in recognition of his leadership and dedication to American psychiatry and his lifelong role as an advocate for the mental health needs of the American Indian community. Dr. Walker is from the Cherokee Tribe of Oklahoma and is the Director of the One Sky Center – a National Resource Center for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Education and Research. Dr. Walker’s distinguished career includes advocating for elimination of the stigmas associated with mental illness and substance abuse disorders. His research focuses on American Indian addiction and mental health. Dr. Walker also is working to address the low number of Indian students in the health care fields and to draw attention to best practices for the prevention and treatment of addiction and mental health disorders among American Indians. He has held numerous national leadership roles in the APA related to these issues and now serves also as the President of the Association of American Indian Physicians.

Dr. Tana Grady-Weliky awarded a Special Presidential Commendation

Dr. Tana Grady-WelikyThe Special Presidential Commendation was awarded posthumously to Tana Grady-Weliky, MD, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to American psychiatry as a leader, an educator, a mentor and a role model. Dr. Grady-Weliky was Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education and Professor in the Department of Psychiatry. She passed away on Jan. 18.

Born Nov. 11, 1962, in Wuerzburg, Germany, Dr. Grady-Weliky earned her medical degree from Duke University School of Medicine and completed her residency in General Psychiatry at McLean Hospital/Harvard Medical School in Belmont, Mass. She was appointed Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education in the OHSU School of Medicine in February 2009. In this position, she oversaw the education of OHSU's approximately 500 MD students.

Six faculty inducted as Fellows, Life Fellows and Distinguished Life Fellows

Distinguished Life Fellows are Distinguished Fellows who have achieved “Life” status through years of active membership and demonstration of outstanding loyalty to the association. This was presented to:

  • Robert S. McKelvey, MD, Professor
  • Michael P. Resnick, MD, Associate Professor

Distinguished Fellows are nationally recognized for their excellence in administrative, educational and clinical settings, as well as for their volunteerism in activities of social and community mental health significance.

  • George A. Keepers, MD, Professor and Chair

Fellows have maintained general membership for at least five consecutive years, are board certified, and are recommended by two of their colleagues already holding fellow, life or distinguished status. This was presented to:

  • David O. Conant-Norville, MD, Affiliate Assistant Professor
  • Saskia E. Hostetler-Lippy, MD, Affiliate Assistant Professor
  • Y. Pritham Raj, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine 
Previous Story LCME update: A focus on medical students Next Story The ripple effect: Faculty reflect on potential of the Lead Mentor Program