twitter Tweet

OHSU School of Medicine dean named to prestigious Blue Ridge Academic Health Group

Organization of health care leaders studies and reports on ways to improve U.S. health care system

The dean of Oregon Health & Science University's School of Medicine has been accepted into the prestigious Blue Ridge Academic Health Group.

Mark Richardson, M.D., M.Sc.B., M.B.A., joins 14 other leaders of academic health centers and national health policy experts as members of the group. Membership in the group is by invitation only.

The Blue Ridge Academic Health Group, founded in 1993, studies and reports on important issues relating to improving the U.S. health care system, with a special focus on the role of academic health centers — like OHSU.

The group has issued 14 reports, with a 15th due soon. A book based on the first seven reports, titled “The Academic Health Center: Leadership and Performance,” was published in 2005 by Cambridge University Press.

The group is co-chaired by Claire Pomeroy, M.D., M.B.A., dean of the School of Medicine at the University of California-Davis; and Wright Caughman, M.D., executive vice president for health affairs at Emory University in Atlanta, Ga.

“The Blue Ridge Group provides great insight and guidance for academic health centers as we navigate the challenging landscape of the 21st century,” said OHSU President Joe Robertson, M.D., M.B.A. “Their work also contributes to the broader national dialogue about the future of health and health care. Dean Richardson is a great choice, who will add significantly to the effort.”

Richardson was named dean of the OHSU School of Medicine in February 2007, after serving as the interim dean since September 2006. Before that, he was professor and chairman of the OHSU Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery. He came to that job in 2001, after serving as the Bordley Professor of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md.

Richardson is also president of the OHSU Faculty Practice Plan, the clinical practice organization for OHSU faculty members.

Previous Story Artists with Parkinson’s to show at Sept. 10 OHSU Parkinson’s Symposium Next Story OHSU Doernbecher Children's Hospital wins $100,000 grant from Hyundai Hope On Wheels