twitter Tweet

OHSU Accolades: Awards, honors and appointments Feb. 13

See who was named Forty under 40 and who received a lifetime achievement award
OHSU Accolades: Awards, honors and appointments Feb. 13.

Two of OHSU's nurse leaders in Occupational Health have been doing great work in the community creating trainings and providing leadership for nurses across Oregon. Gretchen Irwin, RN has partnered with Oregon Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) and OHA to create an updated COVID-19 Vaccination Training that will be used to train community health workers and will also be used at OHSU as an update to  current training created in 2020. 

Andrea Dayot, BSN, Director of Occupational Health who was named one of 11 recipients of the Oregon Governor’s Occupational Safety & Health (GOSH) Award by Governor Tina Kotek for her work to create a comprehensive online training program to equip vaccinators with correct information to safely and effectively administer COVID-19 vaccines, work as an expert to create CDC-branded vaccination training videos and service to the state. 

School of Medicine: Biomedical Innovation Program awards

Albert Chi, M.D., M.S., F.A.C.S., associate professor of surgery in the Division of Trauma, Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery; and Xiao-Yue Han, M.D., general surgery resident received funding from OHSU’s 2022 Biomedical Innovation Program, both in the Device, Diagnostic, Software track. They propose to use hyperspectral imaging to make this distinction, saving patients who don’t need surgery from the operating room and preserving critical operating room space for those who do.  Yet hyperspectral imaging for medical applications has been challenged by high camera costs, low reproducibility, and high data processing needs.

David Huang, M.D., Ph.D., Martha and Eddie Peterson Professor of Ophthalmology, professor of biomedical engineering, and director of research at the Casey Eye Institute has been awarded funding for a  project that will validate advanced technology his team developed that may overcome the epithelial barrier to delivery of riboflavin, oxygen, and UV while also strengthening the cornea. Read the story.


In December, Marissa Co, Ph.D., from the O'Roak and Wright lab, was selected as one of the Spectrum News 40 under 40 list. Congratulations Dr. Co.  Read the announcement.

Congratulations to Dr. Alejandra Fernandez, recipient of the Collins Medical Trust (CMT) award. OHSU submitted 13 proposals and Dr. Fernandez's was one of four selected! Read the story.

Congratulations to Dr. David Huang, who was elected a Member of the National Academy of Engineering’s Class of 2023! He was selected in recognition of his distinguished contributions to engineering by co-inventing optical coherence tomography, an ocular imaging technology that revolutionized the diagnosis and treatment of eye diseases. We are excited to see Dr. Huang's incredible accomplishments recognized by the NAE. Read the announcement.

Congratulations to Courtney Temple, M.D. who was awarded the Inaugural Charles E. Becker Medal for Outstanding Achievement as a Medical Toxicology Fellow. 

Congratulations to Zane Horowitz, M.D., FACMT, who received the 2023 American College of Medical Toxicology Career Achievement Award for his work in toxicology.=

Appointments and Promotions

Congratulations to Dr. Ashok Muralidaran for his promotion to Section Chief of Pediatric Cardiac Surgery- Doernbecher Children’s Hospital. Dr. Muralidaran specializes in surgery on children and adults with congenital heart disease. He also performs research on patient outcomes after congenital cardiac surgery.

Previous Story OHSU physician-scientist elected to National Academy of Engineering Next Story OHSU Accolades: Awards, honors and appointments March 20
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram OHSU Braille services OHSU sign language services OHSU interpreter services X