twitter Tweet

OHSU Accolades: Awards, honors and appointments March 20

See who received an NIH DEI award, funding to support nurse wellbeing and more
OHSU Accolades: Awards, honors and appointments March 20, 2023.

Recognizing the Comprehensive Stroke Program and Clinical Education Program and OHSUians Dr. Marissa Co, Amelia Goff, Dr. Lisa Marriott, LeAnn Michaels, Gayle Murphy and Dr. Barbara Bonnice, Dr. Avital O’Glasser, Dr. Courtney Temple, Dr. Larry Sherman and Dennis Plies.


Program accomplishments

Congratulations to the Comprehensive Stroke Program, which completed their fifth DNV survey with few finings and 16 commendations by surveyors on efforts including education and community outreach. The visit was overwhelmingly successful and OHSU is expected to maintain certification as a Comprehensive Stroke Center.  We are proud to uphold this marker of excellence and continue providing the highest level of stroke care to critically ill patients.

Clinical Education program which was recently reapproved as a provider unit for Nursing Continuing Professional Development (NCPD) through Oregon Continuing Education Activities for Nurses (OCEAN) and ONA. This is a certification is important for OHSU’s Magnet status recertification. Congratulations to the CE team for this great accomplishment.

FLAME Awards

Congratulations to the 2023 winners of the All-Hill Student Council hosted the 18 th annual FLAME Awards on March 1. More than 200 people attended this year’s awards ceremony, held annually to honor students and faculty in eight different categories.

  • Faculty Award: Brianna Hanson, M.S., M.P.A.P., PA-C, Amy Moran, Ph.D. and Emily Elliot, Ph.D.
  • Forging the Way Award: Bridges Collaborative Care Clinic; Runner-up: Patient Education Collaborative
  • Leadership in Student Service: Morgan Logan
  • Advancement in Community Engagement: Viviane Cahen; Runner-up: Mallory deCampos-Stairiker
  • Mentor Award – Faculty: Kristen Mackiewicz Seghete, Ph.D.Michael S. Cohen, Ph.D. and Kevin Wright, Ph.D.

 Read the OHSU Now post to learn more about the awards and the 2023 winners.  


Marissa Co, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow with the Wright and O’Roak labs, was awarded one of six 2023 Rising Star Achievement Awards from the Grass Foundation. The award recognizes excellence of scientific research and inspiring promotion of diversity as a postdoctoral neuroscientist. The Grass Foundation recognizes and supports efforts to use neuroscience as a way to unite thoughtful people across various socioeconomic and geographic barriers. Congratulations Dr. Co.

Congratulations to Amelia Goff, M.S.N., FNP recipient of the 2022 Inaugural Yun Long Ong “Lucky Dragon” Memorial Award, awarded by the OHSU Advanced Practice Nursing Council. The award was honors a dedicated Advanced Practice Nurse who embodies Long’s values for unshakable optimism, warmth, and exceptional patient care.

Congratulations to Dr. Lisa Marriott, associate professor, OHSU-PSU School of Public Health's, and Oregon’s only recipient of the 2022 National Institute of Health award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility (DEIA) MentorshipRead the story.

LeAnn Michaels, Oregon Rural Practice-based Research Network (ORPRN) Director of Clinical Trials, received the 2022 Outstanding Research Coordinator Award at the 50th Annual Meeting of the North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG), held in Phoenix, AZ. NAPCRG is a multidisciplinary organization for primary care researchers. “Through all phases of a project from conceptualization to dissemination, LeAnn helps facilitate organization, management, and execution. She’s the secret ingredient for many of these projects through which the work gets done," said Melinda Davis, Ph.D., associate professor of family medicine and interim director of ORPRN in her document nominating Michaels for the award. Congratulations director Michaels.

Gayle Murphy BSN, RN, CMSRN and Barbara Bonnice DNP, RN, NE-BC were awarded funds from the Oregon Center for Nursing RN Wellbeing grants. Their project aims to improve nurse well-being through a social support focused Peer-Facilitated Peer Learning Circle (PLC) model. Moving from a “self-care” philosophy of wellness to a social support philosophy shifts the responsibility for improved well-being from the individual to the collective. The model will connect nurse participants and peer facilitators over six months. This project will also develop flexible resources, as trained Peer Facilitators can move across areas of the organization in times of stress to support areas of need. Congratulations and way to go promoting well-being among nurses!

Avital O’Glasser, M.D., F.A.C.P., F.H.M., has been awarded the Walter J. McDonald Award for Early Career Physicians, by the American College of Physicians (ACP). She will be recognized at ACP’s annual Convocation ceremony on April 27, during their annual Internal Medicine Meeting conference in San Diego, CA. The Walter J. McDonald Award recognizes outstanding achievement by an ACP internal medicine physician member within 16 years of graduating medical school.  Congratulations Dr. O'Glasser.

Courtney Temple, M.D. F ‘22 was chosen as the inaugural recipient of the Charles E. Becker Medal for Outstanding Achievement as a Medical Toxicology Fellow. Dr. Temple completed the Medical Toxicology Fellowship program at OHSU in 2022, and is currently an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine and a member of the core faculty of the OHSU Medical Toxicology Fellowship Program. The Becker Medal, given by the American College of Medical Toxicology (ACMT), will be formally presented to Dr. Temple in April during a ceremony at the ACMT Annual Scientific Meeting in La Jolla, CA.


Congratulations to Dr. Larry Sherman and Dennis Plies, who will release their book "Every Brain Needs Music: The Neuroscience of Making and Listening to Music" on April 4.

Previous Story OHSU Accolades: Awards, honors and appointments Feb. 13 Next Story OHSU's Nathan Selden, M.D., Ph.D., elected president of Society of Neurological Surgeons
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram OHSU Braille services OHSU sign language services OHSU interpreter services X