twitter Tweet

OHSU physician elected to National Academy of Medicine

Erik Brodt, M.D., recognized for efforts to increase Native American representation in health care
A photo of OHSU's Erik Brodt, M.D., a Native American doctor wearing glasses and a white lab coat. Smiling.
Erik Brodt, M.D., an associate professor of family medicine and assistant dean for Native American health in the Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine, has been elected a member of the National Academy of Medicine. (OHSU/Finn Ryan)

An Oregon Health & Science University physician and advocate for increasing Native American representation in health care is among 100 newly elected members of the National Academy of Medicine, whose members advise the nation on medical issues.

The election recognizes Erik Brodt, M.D., an associate professor of family medicine and assistant dean for Native American health in the OHSU School of Medicine, for “leadership in American Indian/Alaska Native workforce development and pioneering innovative methods to identify, inspire and support American Indian/Alaska Native youth to excel.”

Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. New members are elected by current members.

“Dr. Brodt’s leadership, passion and dedication has had a profound impact on inspiring and empowering tribal citizens to pursue career paths in medicine and health care,” said OHSU President Danny Jacobs, M.D., M.P.H., FACS. “We are exceptionally proud of him and the transformational work he is doing to support the health and wellness of Native American communities by facilitating their recruitment to health professions.”

Brodt, who is Ojibwe, directs OHSU’s Northwest Native American Center of Excellence. Perhaps the center’s best-known initiative is the Wy’east Post-Baccalaureate Pathway, a 10-month program for talented Native American students that serves as an alternative to the traditional medical school admissions process. Since 2018, 27 Wy’east students have completed the initiative and 22 have enrolled in medical school, mostly at OHSU.

Brodt graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School and completed the Swedish Cherry Hill Family Medicine Residency Program while working at a Seattle Indian Health Board clinic. He worked in rural emergency departments and hospitals in Minnesota before becoming a hospitalist at the University of Wisconsin, where he also launched the Native American Center for Health Professions. He joined OHSU in 2017.

Other OHSU faculty members who have previously been elected to the National Academy of Medicine include: Deborah Cohen, Ph.D.; Jennifer DeVoe, M.D.; Brian Druker, M.D.; Richard Goodman, M.D., Ph.D.; Eric Gouaux, Ph.D., Joe Gray, Ph.D.; Danny Jacobs, M.D., M.P.H., FACS; Craig Newgard, M.D., M.P.H.; and Gary Westbrook, M.D.

More information and a list of all 100 new National Academy of Medicine members can be found in the academy’s announcement.

Previous Story OHSU taking steps to improve access to telehealth for all Next Story OHSU moves forward with hospital expansion
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube Instagram OHSU Braille services OHSU sign language services OHSU interpreter services X